Search
Nederlands
FNWI --- IMAPP Department of Astrophysics
Radboud University > Faculty of Science > Department of Astrophysics > News > Astrophysics Colloquia and Seminars

Astrophysics Colloquia and Seminars

Talks start on Tuesdays at 16:00, unless announced otherwise and will take place in HG 00.071 unless otherwise specified. Please check this page regularly as dates, times, places and even speakers may change.

For questions and suggestions please e-mail Elmar Koerding, Samaya Nissanke, Patricia Schmidt and Jamie Farnes at: seminar at astro.ru.nl

Spring 2017 -- Autumn 2017

Date Speaker/Affiliation Title Time/Room Host
Tuesday 14 February 2017Stephen M. Pompea, NOAO, Tucson, AZ Solving the Hard Problems in Astronomy Education 4pm Svea H.
Tuesday 21 February 2017 Yuri Levin, Monash University NOVA colloquium: Measuring gravitational-wave memory with LIGO and Pulsar Timing Arrays 4pm Samaya Nissanke
Tuesday 28 February 2017 Elena Maria Rossi, Leiden Observatory First results from data-mining Hypervelocity stars in the Gaia catalogue 4pm Payaswini Saikia
Tuesday 7 March 2017 Jens Jasche, Universe Cluster Garching Bayesian data interpretation with large scale cosmological models 4pm Jorg Rachen
Tuesday 14 March 2017Chris Ormel, University of Amsterdam Recent advances in Planet Formation 4pm Kristhell López
Thursday 16 March 2017Erik Willems, RU Nijmegen master defense - radio emission of air showers 15:00Hörandel
Tuesday 21 March 2017Nick Stone, Columbia University, NYC Tidal Disruption Events: Observations Confront Theory 4pm Thomas Wevers / Peter Jonker
Tuesday 28 March 2017Björn Eichmann, Ruhr-Universität Bochum TBA 4pm J.P. Rachen
Tuesday 4 April 2017Lucas Ellerbroek, University of Amsterdam/Radboud TBA 4pm
Tuesday 11 April 2017Felicia Krauss, University of Amsterdam AGN jets and neutrinos: multimessenger studies of blazars 4pmCornelia Mueller
Tuesday 18 April 2017 4pm
Tuesday 25 April 2017 4pm
Tuesday 2 May 2017 4pm
Tuesday 9 May 2017Ivan Martí-Vidal, Onsala Space Observatory, Sweden Polarization in AGN jets at high radio-frequencies and resolutions 4pm Raquel Fraga-Encinas
Tuesday 16 May 2017Felix Fuerst, ESA Pulsations above the Eddington-limit: how ULX pulsars challenge our understanding of accretion 4pm Cornelia Mueller
Tuesday 23 May 2017No seminar : NAC at Nijmegen
Tuesday 30 May 2017 Joe Callingham, ASTRON The (Radio) Spectral Revolution: Altering our understanding of Radio Galaxy Evolution 4pm
Tuesday 6 June 2017 Ellert van der Velden, master seminar IMAGINE: A Bayesian pipeline to test Galactic magnetic field models. 4pmMarijke Haverkorn
Tuesday 13 June 2017 Hugues Sana, University of Leuven TBA 4pm Steven Bloemen
Tuesday 20 June 2017 4pm
Tuesday 27 June 2017 Tim Shimwell, Leiden Observatory 4pm
Tuesday 3 October 2017 Leen Decin, University of Leuven 4pm Steven Bloemen