Search
Nederlands
FNWI --- IMAPP Department of Astrophysics
Radboud University > Faculty of Science > Department of Astrophysics

Astrophysics Colloquia and Seminars

This is an old schedule that should not be used anymore. For reference only.

For questions and suggestions please e-mail Elmar Koerding, Patricia Schmidt, Marta Alves and Davide Lena at: seminar at astro.ru.nl

Spring 2017 -- Autumn 2017

Date Speaker/Affiliation Title Time/Room Host
Tuesday 14 February 2017Stephen M. Pompea, NOAO, Tucson, AZ Solving the Hard Problems in Astronomy Education 4pm Svea H.
Tuesday 21 February 2017 Yuri Levin, Monash University NOVA colloquium: Measuring gravitational-wave memory with LIGO and Pulsar Timing Arrays 4pm Samaya Nissanke
Tuesday 28 February 2017 Elena Maria Rossi, Leiden Observatory First results from data-mining Hypervelocity stars in the Gaia catalogue 4pm Payaswini Saikia
Tuesday 7 March 2017 Jens Jasche, Universe Cluster Garching Bayesian data interpretation with large scale cosmological models 4pm Jorg Rachen
Tuesday 14 March 2017Chris Ormel, University of Amsterdam Recent advances in Planet Formation 4pm Kristhell López
Thursday 16 March 2017Erik Willems, RU Nijmegen master defense - radio emission of air showers 15:00Hörandel
Tuesday 21 March 2017Nick Stone, Columbia University, NYC Tidal Disruption Events: Observations Confront Theory 4pm Thomas Wevers / Peter Jonker
Tuesday 28 March 2017Björn Eichmann, Ruhr-Universität Bochum TBA 4pm J.P. Rachen
Tuesday 4 April 2017Lucas Ellerbroek, University of Amsterdam/Radboud TBA 4pm
Tuesday 11 April 2017Felicia Krauss, University of Amsterdam AGN jets and neutrinos: multimessenger studies of blazars 4pmCornelia Mueller
Tuesday 18 April 2017 No seminar : Easter 4pm
Tuesday 25 April 2017 4pm
Tuesday 2 May 2017 4pm
Tuesday 9 May 2017Ivan Martí-Vidal, Onsala Space Observatory, Sweden Polarization in AGN jets at high radio-frequencies and resolutions 4pm Raquel Fraga-Encinas
Tuesday 16 May 2017Felix Fuerst, ESA Pulsations above the Eddington-limit: how ULX pulsars challenge our understanding of accretion 4pm Cornelia Mueller
Tuesday 23 May 2017No seminar : NAC at Nijmegen
Tuesday 30 May 2017 Joe Callingham, ASTRON The (Radio) Spectral Revolution: Altering our understanding of Radio Galaxy Evolution 4pm Jamie Farnes
Tuesday 6 June 2017 Ellert van der Velden, master seminar IMAGINE: A Bayesian pipeline to test Galactic magnetic field models. 4pmMarijke Haverkorn
Tuesday 13 June 2017 Hugues Sana, University of Leuven The VLT-Flames Tarantula Survey 4pm (HG00.622!) Steven Bloemen
Tuesday 20 June 2017 Harish Vedantham 4pm
Tuesday 27 June 2017 Tim Shimwell, Leiden Observatory 4pm Jamie Farnes
Tuesday 26 September 2017 4pm
Tuesday 3 October 2017 Leen Decin, University of Leuven 11am Steven Bloemen
Tuesday 10 October 2017 Ed van der Heuvel Formation of close double neutron stars and close double black holes: similarities and differences 4pm Gijs Nelemans
Tuesday 17 October 2017 4pm
Tuesday 24 October 2017 Frank Verbunt The Earth-Moon system 4pm
Tuesday 31 October 2017 Chris Belczynski, Astronomical Observatory University of Warsaw The Astrophysics of BH-BH/NS-NS Mergers with LIGO/Virgo 4pm Gijs Nelemans
Tuesday 31 October 2017 Marc Balcells, Isaac Newton Group, La Palma CANCELLED 4pm Søren Larsen
Tuesday 7 November 2017 Sarah Caudill, Nikhef Gravitational-wave searches with Advanced LIGO data: challenges and methods 4pm Patricia Schmidt
Tuesday 14 November 2017 Frederic Vincent, l'Observatoire de Paris Images of alternatives to Kerr black holes 4pm Monika Moscibrodzka
Tuesday 21 November 2017 Ragnhild Lunnan, Stockholm University Fantastic Beasts (& Where to Find Them): Superluminous Supernovae from Pan-STARRS and PTF 4pm Samaya Nissanke
Tuesday 28 November 2017 Silvia Piranomonte, INAF-Rome The discovery of the first electromagnetic countepart of a binary neutron star merger: GRAWITA follow-up observations of GW170817 4pm Francesca Onori
Tuesday 5 December 2017 Roman Gold, Goethe University Frankfurt Compact objects in observational focus 4pm Monika Moscibrodzka
Tuesday 12 December 2017 Ileyk El Mellah, Loewen 4pm Kristhell Lopez
Tuesday 19 December 2017 CHRISTMAS BREAK 4pm
Tuesday 9 January 2018 Laura Nuttall, Cardiff The LIGO detectors and how data quality affects the search for gravitational waves 4.30pm Samaya Nissanke
Tuesday 16 January 2018 Nadia Blagorodnova Observational evidence for stellar mergers in synoptic surveys 4pm Paul Groot
Tuesday 23 January 2018 Manon Nikamp Master Talk 4pm Marijke Haverkorn
Tuesday 30 January 2018 Vibor Jelic, Ruder Boskovic Institute Mysterious structures in our Galaxy obscuring the view towards the first stars in the Universe 4pm Marta Alves
Tuesday 6 February 2018 Anna NellesHunting neutrinos in Antarctica 4pm Jörg Hörandel
Tuesday 13 February 2018 Montserrat Villar-Martín CANCELLED 4pm Raquel Fraga-Encinas
Tuesday 20 February 2018 Vincent Guillet 4pm Marta Alves
Tuesday 27 February 2018 4pm
Tuesday 6 March 2018 4pm
Tuesday 13 March 2018 Silvia Toonen, UvA 4pm
Tuesday 20 March 2018 Jim Fuller, Caltech 4pm Samaya Nissanke
Tuesday 27 March 2018 David Wilner, Harvard CfA NOVA seminar 4pm
Tuesday 3 April 2018 Monika Moscibrodzka, Radboud University CANCELLED 4pm
Tuesday 10 April 2018 Leonard Burtscher, Leiden University Diet for the monsters: molecular tori in active galaxies 4pm Davide Lena
Tuesday 17 April 2018 Thomas Sotiriou, The University of Nottingham 4pm Patricia Schmidt
Tuesday 24 April 2018 FACULTY BOARD BORREL 4pm
Tuesday 1 May 2018 Brian Hare, Groningen Precision Lightning Mapping in 3-dimensions with LOFAR 4pm Jörg Hörandel
Tuesday 8 May 2018 Sandor Frey, Konkoly Observatory Radio-emitting active galactic nuclei towards the the edge of the Universe 4pm Davide Lena
Tuesday 15 May 2018 NAC MEETING 4pm
Tuesday 22 May 2018 Kazunori Akiyama, Jansky fellow at MIT Haystack Imaging and Filming Black Holes with the Event Horizon Telescope 4pm Michael Janssen
Tuesday 29 May 2018 Anthony Brown, University of Leiden 4pm Davide Lena
Tuesday 5 June 2018 Sandra Brünken, RU Fingerprinting molecular tracers for astrophysics 4pm Marijke Haverkorn
Tuesday 12 June 2018 Morgan Fraser, University College Dublin The strange deaths of massive stars - peculiar supernovae and their precursors 4pm Peter Jonker
Tuesday 19 June 2018 4pm
Tuesday 26 June 2018 Ilse Plaisier, RU A parameterization for the radio footprint of air showers measured with LOFAR 4pm Jörg Hörandel